The search for a new arena began in 1993, when H. Wayne Huizenga obtained the new franchise for the Florida Panthers Hockey Team. The search process became a fast-track development strategy when the site in Sunrise, Florida was selected in June, 1996.

In July, 1996, Alex Muxo gathered more than a dozen architects, engineers and contractors for the first major design brainstorming session. Time was of the essence. A state-of-the-art arena had to be built by August 30, 1998, to accommodate the fall 1998 Hockey Season.
Architects Ellerbe Becket were given the 26-month time frame. They had never designed a facility that had taken less than 31 months from start to finish. They accepted the challenge.

Walter "Budge" Upton, Director of Construction for Arena Development Company, led the construction team of Centex/Rooney Huber, Hunt & Nichols and Morse Diesel. Together, they had to determine and coordinate a myriad of details to get the job completed on schedule. For months, workers were building the arena in two shifts, including weekends.

More than 600 construction workers set masonry, erected drywall, ran plumbing lines, installed air conditioning and ran miles of conduit for the electrical systems. Nearly 500 workers installed 19,000 theater style cushioned seats, carpeting and tile.

Seventy suites were completed with wet bars, closed circuited monitors and leather upholstery. Averaging over 650 square feet, the suites are the largest in the country for this type of facility.

All the activity was generated by over 50 subcontractors and 2.3 million man hours without a single injury.

The end result reflects the youthful, confident and dynamic character of the Florida Panthers Hockey Team, as well as, an effective civic image for a full range of entertainment offerings.

The arena is home to the Panthers and formerly the Florida Pit Bulls of the ABA and the Florida Bobcats of the AFL 1998-2001 along with the only season of the Florida ThunderCats. This arena also serves as the host for the Orange Bowl Basketball Classic held every December in conjunction with the namesake college football game.

The arena has also hosted the 2003 NHL All-Star Game and the 2005–2006 ABA All-Star game.

The Arena was first known as the Broward County Civic Center at its inception before becoming the National Car Rental Center on July 14 1998. It later became the Office Depot Center in the summer of 2002 and became the BankAtlantic Center on September 6, 2005. The latest name change came on September 10, 2012 when it becameBB&T Center.


Completed in 1988 at a cost of $52.5 million, the Miami Arena was the very first home of the Florida Panthers (1993–1998). It also housed the Miami Heat from 1988–1999, the University of Miami basketball teams from 1988–2003, the Miami Hooters of the Arena Football League from 1993–1995, the Miami Matadors of the ECHL in 1998, the Miami Manatees of the WHA2 in 2003, and the Miami Morays indoor football team since 2005.

Miami Arena hosted the 1996 Stanely Cup Finals where the Colorado Avalanche defeated the Panthers in four games, including a 1-0 clincher on June 14, 1996 where Uwe Krupp scored the game-winning goal in the third-overtime.

It would also host the 1990 NBA All-Star Game, the 1991 Royal Rumble, and the 1994 NCAA Men's Basketball East Regional Final.

BB&T Center 2012-present
BankAtlantic Center 2005-2012
Office Depot Center 2002-2005
National Car Rental Center 1998-2002
Miami Arena 1993-98
 is the official Web site of the Florida Panthers. Florida Panthers and are trademarks of the Florida Panthers Hockey Club, Ltd. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks and NHL Draft name and logo are trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2016 Florida Panthers Hockey Club, Ltd and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.