Hockey 101


Regular Season Scheduling
Eastern Conference (8-Team Divisions)
Within Conference (Division): 30 games
* 5 games vs. two teams (3 Home/2 Away vs. one team, 2 Home/3 Away vs. one team) AND
4 games vs. five teams (2 Home/2 Away). Teams rotated on a yearly basis.
* 5 X 2 =10 games
* 4 X 5 = 20 games

Within Conference (Non-Division): 24 games

* 3 games vs. each team (2 Home/1 Away vs. four teams, 1 Home/2 Away vs. four teams).
Teams rotated on a yearly basis.
* 3 X 8 = 24 games

Non-Conference: 28 games
* 2 games vs. each team (1 Home/1 Away)
* 2 X 14 = 28 games

Playoff Seeding Determination
Sixteen teams qualify for the Stanley Cup Playoffs: eight teams from the Western Conference and eight teams from the Eastern Conference.

Playoff qualification will be primarily Division-based, with the top three finishers in each Division qualifying for the first 12 spots in the Stanley Cup Playoffs (and the first three “seeds” in each Division).

The two additional playoff spots in each Conference, designated as “Wild Cards,” will be awarded to the next two highest-placed finishers in each Conference, ranked on the basis of regular-season points and regardless
of Division.

“Seeding” of the Wild Card teams within each Divisional Playoff will be determined on the basis of regular season points. The first-place finisher with the most regular-season points in the Conference will be matched against the Wild Card team with the fewest regular-season points, and the first-place finisher with the second-most regular season points in the Conference matched against the Wild Card team with the second fewest regular-season points.

#1 vs. #4 / #2 vs. #3 -- winners play each other for berth in Conference Championship

* Conference Finals -- Two advancing teams in the West and two advancing teams in the East meet in Conference Championship

* Eastern and Western Conference Champions meet in Stanley Cup Final

The League will play under this new alignment and playoff system for a minimum of three seasons, through the 2015-16 NHL season.

If two or more clubs are tied in points during the regular season, the standing of the clubs is determined in the following order:
  1. The fewer number of games played (i.e., superior points percentage).
  2. The greater number of games won, excluding games won in the Shootout (NEW for 2010-11). This figure is reflected in the ROW column.
  3. The greater number of points earned in games between the tied clubs. If two clubs are tied, and have not played an equal number of home games against each other, points earned in the first game played in the city that had the extra game shall not be included. If more than two clubs are tied, the higher percentage of available points earned in games among those clubs, and not including any "odd" games, shall be used to determine the standing.
  4. The greater differential between goals for and against for the entire regular season.
All series are best-of-seven.

Reading The Standings:

Teams receive 2 points for a win (W), one point for an overtime loss (OT) and no points for a regulation loss (L). As an example a team with a record of 32-24-8 has earned 72 points [(2x32=64) + 8].

Back To Hockey101 Mainpage